Learning to be Content

“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether living in plenty or in want, I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.”

Philippians 4:11-13

Last night I was devastated after we got the news of another job rejection. Then today I did my bible study “Calm my anxious heart” and this verse was our theme. God gave me just what I needed right now. I am feeling very at peace right now. I know that our journey is not over and that I still have a lot to learn, but God is working in me to calm my heart and teach me to be “content in any and every situation.”

I also learned in this first lesson that I have to trust God to give us what we need, not what we think we need or what we think we want. I prayed and I asked for prayers for that teaching job. I would say in my prayers “Your will be done,” but I really wanted my will. Now I know to pray that God would care for us, give us what we need when He knows we need it and he will see us through. So I ask that you would continue to pray for us, but let us all pray for God’s will to be done. For patience, for a calm heart and a learning spirit as we walk through this valley and may we never forget to praise Him when we are in want and when we have plenty.

One thought on “Learning to be Content

  1. Good Morning!

    This is God. I will be handling all your problems today.

    I will not need your help.

    So, have a good day!

Leave a Reply

